US Business News

2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Releases Inductees for the Year

Sourced Photo
Sourced Photo

Image commercially licensed from: Unsplash

For its 37th year, the annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has proudly announced its most diverse set of inductees by far. The iconic induction ceremony is set to take place on October 31st at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland.

As is customary, the inductees were chosen by an international voting body of over 1,200 individuals such as artists, current living inductees, historians, and other vital music industry members. This year, there are a total of six inductees who have made it into the Hall of Fame. In addition, five other remarkable individuals will be awarded in the event.

“What’s Love Got to Do with It” singer and beloved Queen of Rock’ n’ Roll Tina Turner is among the six impressive music acts who have made the cut. Joining her is Carole King, who is hailed as the most celebrated and iconic singer-songwriter of all time.

Hip-hop icon Shawn Carter, popularly known as Jay-Z, American multi-instrumentalist Todd Rundgren, rock bands The Go-Go’s, and Foo Fighters will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Three notable acts will be given the Early Influence Award as recognition for their groundbreaking and innovative contributions to the music industry. The first one is the German band Kraftwerk, which is considered as the pioneers of electronic music. The Father of the Delta Blues Charley Patton will also be posthumously awarded alongside the late musician and poet Gil Scott-Heron.

Grammy Award-winning rapper LL Cool J, R&B singer Billy Preston, and heavy metal guitarist Randy Rhoads will all receive the Musical Excellence Award.

Finally, music executive and film producer Clarence Avant has been chosen as the recipient of the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which is given to non-performing professionals who have made significant contributions to the industry.

The upcoming induction ceremony is creating a buzz as it returns to its live format this year. In addition, it is expected to be a star-studded event that will be attended by A-list celebrities, including the biggest names in the music industry.

Legendary artists such as Paul McCartney, Lionel Richie, Taylor Swift, Jennifer Hudson, and actors Drew Barrymore and Angela Bassett will be part of the ceremony as presenters. In addition, Christina Aguilera, Mickey Guyton, H.E.R., and Bryan Adams will also appear on the show, performing the hits of newly inducted Hall of Famer Tina Turner.

People both from outside and within the music scene have lauded this year’s inductees as well as praised the selection committee. At the same time, many are hopeful that this year’s inductees will set a precedent for a more inclusive and diverse future in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, John Sykes, confidently echoed the same sentiments and said, “This diverse class of talented Inductees reflects the Rock Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture. It will make for an unforgettable live celebration of music in October at this year’s Induction Ceremony in Cleveland.”


This article features branded content from a third party. Opinions in this article do not reflect the opinions and beliefs of US Business News.